Easy Loan?
A few days ago(on January 1st) to be exact, I received an e-mail offering an easy loan. If you had read the content of the e-mail(you might want to read it before continue reading this post.. too small? use the top right open in new window button for clearer view), does it sound a little bit too good to be true? If it does, you are right!! If it doesn’t you might want to prepare yourself better before using internet as your primary source of information.
I just read it yesterday(too busy to go through low priority e-mails since end of December). At a glance it is a chance too good to pass. But my instinct telling me I should check out the credibility before giving this person any of my money.
Red Flag 1:
jimdo.com
Never heard of it. Ran a WHOIS search and found out these details:
[owner-c] handle: 10193181
[owner-c] type: ORG
[owner-c] title:
[owner-c] fname: Christian
[owner-c] lname: Springub
[owner-c] org: Jimdo GmbH
[owner-c] address: Stresemannstr. 375
[owner-c] city: Hamburg
[owner-c] pcode: 22761
[owner-c] country: DE
[owner-c] state: DE
[owner-c] phone: +49-40-82244997
[owner-c] fax: +49-40-82244998
[owner-c] email:
[owner-c] protection: B
[owner-c] updated: 2010-11-01 11:27:43
Just a moment later I realised the domain is offering free website builder for subdomains under it. And no easy way to find out the real owner of the subdomain.
Red Flag 2:
This person claiming that he/she is using Kuwait Financial House(KFH) as the source of the loan. I checked out KFH site and read carefully about Personal Loans they are offering and the requirements to get a loan is far off from what this person stated.
Red Flag 3:
To confirm my suspicions I Googled for more information using the little info I have and it leads me to these sites:
http://www.carigold.com/portal/forums/showthread.php?t=219396
http://shaffik.com/2011/08/15/pinjaman-dari-kuwait-finance-house-scam/
p/s: Found out that the oldest case was from March 2011. And yet this person still able to use the same MO to scam. Do we have to wait for these things affect half of Malaysian before any steps to curb this person taken by the authorities?
January 10, 2012 No Comments
Ice Cream Sandwich Anyone?
Android’s latest firmware Ice Cream Sandwich(4.0) finally available to us Malaysian officially through the one and only(for the time being) Samsung Galaxy Nexus.
While this is the first phone created for ICS, the hardware specs is not the best available for Android phone out there. Just a little bit higher than my current HTC Incredible S phone. There are a lot of talk when and what phone will be getting ICS. They are just rumours and I have nothing solid to confirms anything for the time being. I certainly hope that my Incredible S is in the list especially after HTC didn’t include it in HTC Sense 3.0 update late last year using the reason that my phone hardware specs is not high enough to run HTC Sense 3.0. All I heard is buy a new phone from us.
I’m not in the market to buy a new phone right now. But I will definitely recommend Samsung Galaxy Nexus for those searching for a smartphone now. For those who already have a smartphone and have the leisure to wait for a better phone, my say is wait at least till summer. It is when a whole new generation of phones will be out. Not to mention Windows Phone 8 will be out and the first batch of Win Phone 8 Nokia will be out too.
With 3 major OSes competing for a larger piece of pie in smartphone market, this is the time for consumers to buy.
p/s: I know there is ICS ROM out there for my phone after researching about this yesterday, but I’m not willing to flash my phone for a half baked ROM yet.
January 10, 2012 No Comments
